Gabbiano Chianti 2010

There is something so satisfying with strapping on an apron, pouring a glass of wine, and cooking up a storm.  It makes me feel like a housewife from the 60s and I love it.

 

VintageHousewifeCooking

 

It makes it feel even more fancy when the recipe involves lots of chopping, dicing, and requires many pots on the stove. 

 

IMG-20111125-00595

 

What made last week’s vintage cooking session even more special were Christmas carols and the Milk Calendar.  And a glass of chianti. 

The Milk Calendar comes out every December , and features a different recipe each month.   Sponsored by the Dairy Farmers of Ontario, the Milk Calendar has been an Ontario tradition for the past 35 years.  I don’t actually use mine as a calendar, I flip through the contents and rip out each recipe that appeals to me.  And most do, as the majority of recipes involve a creamy sauce…since the key ingredient is milk.

 

milk calendarFirst up for the 2012 calendar was Chicken and Vegetable Casserole with Basil.  Egg noodles, chicken, green beans, and grape tomatoes in a creamy sauce topped with melted mozzarella.  Except I made major substitutions.  I subbed broccoli for the green beans.  I added red pepper.  I used penne because I didn’t have egg noodles.  And I added 4 cloves of garlic because there was no garlic in this recipe.  Seriously.  How can garlic not be in a pasta recipe?  Then I sprinkled paprika in the cooked sauce and totally forgot to add basil.  So I basically butchered the original recipe. 

The recipe claims to only be 15 minutes prep time and 30 minutes cook time.  I cooked the chicken, chopped the veggies, boiled the pasta, and made the creamy sauce all at the same time.  It was frantic.  I actually found it hard to drink my glass of wine. 

It was a simple recipe yet did not feel simple when I prepped/cooked.  But it was deeeeelicious!  I highly recommend.  I’m not a fan of cooked veggies (but love them raw) so I steamed the broccoli for 2 minutes and I didn’t even cook the peppers before tossing them in the casserole (but they did bake in the oven for 15 minutes as part of the casserole).  Then the tender-crisp veggies were coated in a cream sauce.  This is a great way to make veggies enjoyable for your kids.  Or for adults who don’t like mushy vegetables. 

So if you’re looking for an excuse to have a glass of wine, try this recipe.  The chopping, multiple pots, and time involved make it wine-while-cooking-worthy.

2010 Gabbiano Chianti

gabbiano_chianti_750

$13.95

Italy

First off, in case you don’t know, Chianti is pronounced “key-on-tea”.  You don’t want to be one of those people that make others cringe when you mispronounce a word….like “ex-presso” instead of “es-presso”, Queens “Qu-way” instead of Queens “Key” ( actual spelling is Queens Quay) (really only applicable for you Torontonians), and “foy-yer” instead of “foy-yay” (foyer).

 

IMG-20111125-00592

 

As I madly prepared dinner, I took a few moments to pause and reflect on the dark purple glass of chianti I just poured.  Before even tasting it, I pegged iIMG-20111125-00594t for an all around, medium wine.  The texture was not watery, but not thick and syrupy.  There was a nice aroma. The scent didn’t jump out at you once poured, but it also was evident without deeply inhaling. 

Upon tasting it, my first thoughts were mild, yet flavourful.  I was right – it had a medium body.  There was a slight sharpness, but it wasn’t harsh.  Gabbiano Chianti had enough of a bite to make it interesting without being over-powering.  There is a slight aftertaste – this lingering flavour is just enough to make the the wine memorable.  I hate weak wines that go down like fruit juice. 

Chianti is a blend of wines, with at least 70% coming from the Sangiovese grape, and 10% canaioli.  The remaining portion can be from a wide varieties of grapes.  This particular blend had Colorino as the third grape.   Recently the Chianti regulations changed, which allows for 100% Sangiovese grape.  This creates a very rich, and expensive wine.

Overall, Gabbiano Chianti is a medium wine that may be a little too vibrant for non-wine drinkers, and too pale for those who like a nice kick to their grape juice.  I would recommend for a dinner party, as it’s a nice compromise.  It’s also a great wine to enjoy on your own when you’re slightly distracted, like say  running around the kitchen like a mad-woman cooking.

I liked this wine, and am very interested in exploring more Chiantis.  I would buy this again, and I would serve this to company and bring it as a hostess gift.  However, there are several wines that I like more than Gabbiano Chianti.   So while I would buy it again, there are other bottles that I will pick up before this makes it into my LCBO cart. 

This entry was posted in Chianti, Wine Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gabbiano Chianti 2010

  1. Christine M. says:

    A google search for Gabbiano Chianti just brought me to this post – and I love your post so much – I just had to tell you how much I LOVE it! From one running around the kitchen like a mad woman (cooking) to another! ~Chrissy

Leave a Reply

