Masi Campofiorin 2008

Disappoint [dis-uh-point] to fail to fulfill the expections or wishes of.

Disappointment sucks, eh? 

Lately The Husband and I have been super disappointed with “The Office”.  Every Thursday we cling to this little bit of hope that we’ll see a hilarious episode.  You know the type of episode where you watch it a couple times and notice more funny things each time?  Where you email your significant other funny quotes from the episode all day long?  Where you laugh your ass off? 

Unfortunately that hasn’t occurred for the better part of a year.  Maybe even two.  However like the nerds we are, we still keep the memory of the “old” Office alive by giggling at funny quotes that only The Office fans can appreciate.  One of my favourite conversations between Dwight and Jim: (the other is the “which bear is best” banter omg too funny I can’ t handle it!!)

Dwight Schrute: Welcome to the Hotel Hell. Check-in time in now, check-out time is never.
Jim Halpert: Does my room have cable?
Dwight Schrute: No. And the sheets are made of fire.
Jim Halpert: Can I change rooms?
Dwight Schrute: Sorry we’re all booked up. Hell convention in town.
Jim Halpert: Can I have a late check-out?
Dwight Schrute: I’ll have to talk to the manager.
Jim Halpert: You’re not the manager, even in your own fantasy?
Dwight Schrute: I’m the owner.. the co-owner. With Satan!
Jim Halpert: Okay, just so I understand it. In your wildest fantasy, you are in hell and you are co-running a bed and breakfast with the devil.
Dwight Schrute: But I haven’t told you my salary yet.
Jim Halpert: Go.
Dwight Schrute: Eighty thousand dollars.

Ahhh it’s too much!  Sorry for non-Office fans who totally won’t find that funny.

Where was I?  Right, disappointment.  In addition to The Office, other things that have recently disappointment me include not finding a single piece of clothing that I liked at Guess when I have a gift card burning a hole in my wallet, deep-friend turkey, the hot yoga Groupon that expired before I used it, and Masi Campofiorin.

Masi Campofiorin 2008

Italy

$17.95

Masi Campofiorin was one of my favourite wines.  It was a treat that I usually hoarded to myself.  If you’ve observed the pass-tense with my last two sentences it’s because I consumed some Masi Campofiorin a couple nights ago and I was disappointed.

My first impression was a watery, ruby red wine with a mild aroma.  You know when you swirl wine around your glass sometimes it looks thick and lusicous, other times it looks thin and has a clear film floating on the top?  Well that’s what I mean by “watery” – in spite of the gorgeous ruby colour, the wine just looked weak.

My first taste was pungent.  It was peppery and sour, although it was surprisingly medium-bodied.  The flavour lingered in my mouth and down my throat for a while, which is normally a quality I adore.

I waited for the initial flavour notes to clear my mouth, and took my second sip.  This was smoother but bitter.  This is the point when I questioned why this wine had a special spot in my wine rack and heart. 

The third sip was the smoothest but still strange.  I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not.  It wasn’t spit-out-awful…it was just different.  This time I tasted sour cherries.

By the time I took my fourth drink, I accepted I wasn’t going to love this wine but I do like it.  This fourth sip was fruitier and lighter than my previous tastings. 

Basically, this wine left me scratching my head.  I couldn’t put my finger on what exactly was wrong with it.  So I did what I always do when I have a burning question or need to prove to somone that I’m right – I Googled “ripasso” to find out what I was drinking.

Ripasso means “re-pressed”.  After the grapes are pressed, the grape-remains (skin, seeds, guts) are added to the batch of wine to contribute to the flavour, tannins, and colour.  What I found fascinating is the pressed grapes are added to Valpolicella wines, which I recently discovered I don’t like.  I’m assuming that has a lot to do with why the Masi Campofiorin didn’t tickle my fancy.

What still remains a mystery is why this used to be considered one of my top wines.  Now that I’m taking the time to examine each sip, I find that I’m learning so much about wine and what I like and don’t like. 

Final Verdict: I like it, I don’t love it.  It’s medium-bodied and an interesting wine, but what turned me off is the tangy/sour aftertaste.  It’s drinkable, but not worth $18.

This entry was posted in Ripasso, Wine Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

