Epsom Salts

I love salty chips, floating in the salty ocean, and using a salt-scrub to smooth and exfoliate my skin.  So it only seems right that I add salt to almost every bath I take.  I add epsom salts in addition to bubble bath/oil/bath bombs. 

Epsom salts sooth the mind, body, and soul. 

The main reason I add the epsom salts is to pamper my muscles after a tough run.  I’m currently training for my 2nd half-marathon and always have an epsom soak after my long runs and after hills training. 

Epsom salt is absorbed through the skin and reduces muscle inflammation – hence soaking after strenuous run.  I swear by them.  Of course there’s no way to tell if I’d be more sore had I not had an epsom soak, but I truly believe they minimize muscle inflammation and therefore soreness.

There are many fabulous benefits including:

  • relaxes the nervous system
  • treats colds and congestion
  • heals cuts
  • softens skin
  • flushes toxins
  • eases muscle strain
  • soreness from childbirth
  • soothes arthritus

Pretty amazing, huh? 

Epsom salt is a chemical compound called Magnesium Sulfate.  When dissolved in water, epsom salt is absorbed through the skin and quickly gets to work.  How does it work?  Check out this link for full details.  It’s pretty amazing stuff!

I buy the Life Brand at Shoppers Drug Mart – unscented.  They also carry lavender-scented and eucalyptus-scented but they are a little more expensive so I only buy them when they’re on sale.

 

I know the packaging is pretty un-sexy.  Actually it reminds me of some strange old-person medication.  So when I bring it home, I fill it in a glass apothacary jar I have next to my tub.  I have a small cute scoop that I keep in the jar too.  It’s a nice spa-ish decoration for my tub, but it’s also functional.

While I use epsom salts in combination with scented bath gels, I plan on purchasing some essential oils to mix with the epsom salts.   I’m currently researching the best essential oil combinations to use for my various types of baths – soothing, de-stressing, muscle-relaxing, etc.  Stayed tuned for more reviews on epsom salts.  And if you have any experience with essential oils, please leave a comment with your recommendations!!

 

This entry was posted in Bath Reivew and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Epsom Salts

  1. Pingback: EVOO |

Leave a Reply

