Wolf Blass Yellow Label Cabernet Sauvignon

“That’s a lovely accent you have. New Jersey?”

 “Austria.”

” Austria! Well, then. G’day mate! Let’s put another shrimp on the barbie!”

Australia.  The Land Down Under (where women glow and men plunder).  Home of the koala, kangaroo, and vegemite sandwich.   Also the sixth largest exporter of wine in the world (behind France, Italy, Spain, USA, and Argentina).

In my 2006 visit to Oz I did many Aussie things: I held a baby koala, pet many kangaroos (as evident in the above photo), and scuba dove in the Great Barrier Reef.  I did not try a vegemite sandwich.  And I did not drink any Australian wine.  WHAT?

True story people. 

I had high hopes of visiting many vineyards and drinking lots of local wine.  There were 3 things I didn’t count on.

#1 – drinking so much wine the whole 21 hour flight there – plus drinking in the lounge between flights – that I really didn’t feel like drinking for most of my trip

#2 – Australia is almost the same size as the USA and the vineyards were not a hop, skip, and a jump away like I mistakenly fantasized envisioned

#3 – local wine is expensive.  You figure the distance Australian wine travels to get to North America would account for a higher price tag in Canada…however it was no cheaper in Australia.  Actually alcohol in general was quite pricey in Oz

I do however, do a pretty good job of drinking Australian wines in Canada.  One of my favourite Australian wines is Wolf Blass Yellow Label Cabernet Sauvignon.  Side note – did you know that “Wolf Blass” is two words not one?  I didn’t.

Wolf Blass Yellow Label Cabernet Sauvignon

$16.45

A quick swirl of the glass highlighted the deep colour and nice residue on the side of the glass.  The smell was pleasant and not overly strong (remember I don’t use words like “earthy”, “nutty”, and “floral”). 

The first sip tingled my tongue and gave my throat a slight bite as it warmly went down my throat.  Not too light, but not too heavy, this nice medium wine was very enjoyable.  

Five sips in, there was still a mild bite and bold taste, which I appreciated as it keeps things interesting.  Each sip I took, the wine got smoother.  This isn’t a wine you guzzle…it is meant to be enjoyed, to ponder the interesting balance of a sleek wine with a harsh aftertaste.  I found I could only take little sips at a time, however that’s probably a good thing! 

This wine fits in beautifully with my general wine criteria – it’s medium bordering on coarse, it leaves a lovely aftertaste, and it’s moderately priced.  The next time I go to The Keg I will order a glass of Wolf Blass Yellow Label to accompany my filet.  And if I ever have a fancy relaxed night to myself, you can bet it’s going to involve Wolf Blass and some parmesan cheese.

Wolf Blass Yellow Label Cabernet Sauvignon definitely lives up to it’s reputation as a nice wine and I would most certainly recommend.

This entry was posted in Cabernet Sauvignon, Wine Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

