Fat Bastard Cabernet Sauvignon

I don’t like seafood.  Nope, not even shrimp.  Because people always ask me about shrimp when I say I don’t like seafood and I don’t really get why – is shrimp a gateway seafood?  To clarify my stance on seafood, I should add a footnote that I actually enjoy fried calamari and fish n’ chips, and only from Lucy’s Seafood Kitchen.  The reason is two-fold.  Firstly, you batter and deep-fry anything I’ll probably like it, and secondly, Lucy’s does their seafood right.  The calamari is never chewy and it’s served with The Best creamy cayenne gin dip, and the halibut fish n’ chips isn’t too fishy – although slathering it in malt vinegar, ketchup, and salt may help may have something to do with it.

The husband and I were at Lucy’s a few years ago with my parents.  Mom and I were deciding on what kind of wine to order, when Fat Bastard caught my eye.   This was before the wine industry became obsessed with odd named wines (Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush – seriously?) and I had also remembered a friend of mine recommended Fat Bastard a while back.  I know red wine isn’t supposed to be served with seafood, but I’m a bit of a rebel.

Long story short, we ordered it, loved it, and since then it’s become a fairly regular wine in my wine rack.

Last night I poured a large glass of Fat Bastard Cabernet Sauvignon to compliment my bath.  Since having The Monkey, I find that bath’s are my only refuge, my safe place, my lady-cave.  So naturally the majority of my soaks involve wine.  

Fat Bastard Cabernet Sauvignon

France

$14.95

As the bath water roared through the pipes above me, I was in the kitchen pouring my glass of wine.  I was surprised this bottle was a screw-top.  I don’t really care, but it kinda threw me off.  I poured about a glass and a half and let it sit for 25 minutes.  There is nothing special about letting the wine oxidize for 25 minutes, that’s just what happens when your baby gets hungry.

Once The Monkey was fed and I was  comfortably soaking, I took my first sip.  It was sharp, but not bad.  Not good either though.  However that hardness was lost with my second sip and all subsequent sips.  In fact the sharpness actually transformed to a very smooth sensaion with a pleasant taste that lingered on my tongue.  I love a wine that leaves me with a nice lingering taste, as it’s like leaving you with a little gift to enjoy before you take your next sip. 

The best way to describe this wine is bold yet smooth.   This is a beautifully aromatic wine – you will note a pleasant wine fragrence without even without trying to do the snooty-wine-expert-sniff-before-you-drink-thing.  The scent hovers above the glass greatly contributing to an enjoyable wine experience.

Fat Bastard Cabernet Sauvignon is a delightful wine that is both crisp and smooth, that new wine-drinkers won’t find too harsh, and has enough balls for the experienced wine-drinker.

This entry was posted in Cabernet Sauvignon, Wine Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

